Many sex crimes require a convicted person to register as a sex offender in Illinois. If this happens to you, your life can become incredibly difficult. Not only may you encounter fewer opportunities for employment or housing, but you may also find a community you once felt a part of turn against you.
How Long Do Sex Offenders Remain on the Illinois Registry?
If someone is convicted of a sex crime but is not classified as a sexual predator, then they must register as a sex offender for 10 years on an annual basis.
Certain convictions can result in a sexual predator classification, especially for repeat offenders and those convicted of sex crimes involving minors. If someone is classified as a sexual predator, they must register on an annual basis, or more frequently if they are considered sexually dangerous or violent, for the rest of their life.
What Are the Sex Offender Registration Requirements in Illinois?
Sex offenders must, at minimum, provide all names and aliases they use or have used in the past, their current address and phone number, place of employment, school enrollment information, a physical description including an up-to-date photograph and fingerprints, and vehicle information.
In addition to registering with law enforcement, sex offenders must also register with the Illinois Department of Corrections Sex Offender Services Division. The Sex Offender Services Division will use the information provided by a registered sex offender to create a public registry that is available online. This public registry includes the names, photographs, addresses, and other personal information of all registered sex offenders in Illinois.
If a registered sex offender moves residences, they must notify the Illinois Sex Offender Registration Team within 10 days of the move and must also re-register with the Department of Corrections. Failure to comply with these registration requirements can result in criminal penalties and fines.
What Are the Consequences of Failing to Register as a Sex Offender?
Failing to properly register as a sex offender is a Class 3 felony in Illinois, which can be punished with two to five years in prison. A second failure to register is a Class 2 felony, which can be punished with up to seven years in prison.
If you are on parole or a conditional release, failing to register as a sex offender will revoke these privileges, and you will complete your sentence in prison. Additionally, any violation of the Sex Offender Registration Act requires registration every 90 days for the duration of one’s required registration period.
How Can I Avoid the Sex Offender Registry?
The best way to avoid the sex offender registry in Illinois is to avoid a conviction for a sex crime. We at the Law Office of Steven Fine understand that many who face sex crime charges may be inappropriately accused of certain offenses.
Rest assured that we take a personalized approach to each client’s legal defense, taking care to thoroughly investigate the claims against them and building a strategy to help them secure the best possible outcome. It’s possible to avoid a conviction for a sex crime and sex offender registration, but you must contact an experienced attorney for help.
To learn more about the legal support the Law Office of Steven Fine can provide, reach out to us online now!