In Illinois, you can be charged with a DUI if you drive or operate a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. A DUI conviction can have a lasting impact on your life and can cost you more than just the criminal fines.
The Financial Costs of a DUI Conviction in Illinois
If you are convicted of a DUI, you will face some serious financial consequences. First-time DUI convictions are punishable by a fine of $500-$2,500 (unless there are aggravating circumstances that mean the offense is punishable as a felony). Second-time offenses are also punishable by a fine of up to $2,5000, while third and subsequent-time offenses are punishable by a fine of up to $25,000.
In addition to the criminal fines, the other financial penalties for a DUI conviction in Illinois include:
- Attorney’s fees. These fees can vary based on who you retain and their respective hourly rate. While you may consider eliminating this fee by forgoing retaining an attorney, you need the help of a reliable and experienced attorney as they have a firm grasp of the legal system and laws governing your case. With their help, you can work to dismiss or mitigate the charges against you.
- Court fees. To cover towing and impound fees, the court processing fee, and other court costs, you may have to pay upwards of $1,000.
- Restricted driving permit. To obtain this license, you will have to pay a $50 filing fee. If your license is suspended or revoked, you may need to apply for a restricted driving permit, which allows those with suspended or revoked driver’s licenses to drive to and from certain locations. These locations can include your place of employment, school or university, church, or other necessary location. Not everyone is eligible for a restricted driving permit, so you should consult with your attorney to learn if this is an option for you.
- Increased insurance premium. After a DUI conviction, your will insurance rates will likely be affected and can increase on average by about $650 per year. However, the specific fluctuation in price will be dependent on your insurer and their policies.
- License reinstatement fees. After the post-conviction license suspension ends, you may want to get your license reinstated, which can cost $500 (not including the application fee).
- Ignition interlock device. Also referred to as breath alcohol ignition interlock devices (BAIID), these machines require drivers to blow into a mouthpiece on the device to start or keep driving their car. After a DUI conviction, you may be required to have this device for a specified period. A BAIID can cost $100 to install and about $80 per month to maintain. You will also have to pay a monitoring fee, which can cost $30 per month.
- Rehabilitation costs. In some cases, you may have to undergo an Alcoholism & Substance Abuse evaluation, which can cost up to $250. Other rehabilitation costs can include DUI education courses (about $50) and counseling fees.
Social & Personal Costs of a DUI Conviction
A DUI conviction can also cost you personally and socially. Specifically, after a conviction, you may lose:
- Relationships. A DUI conviction can damage your relationship, which can negatively impact your personal (and professional) relationships.
- Your job. After being convicted, you may have your professional license revoked, or you may lose your ability to work in certain industries (i.e.. banking, security, education, real estate, medical, etc.). Finding a new job with a criminal conviction (misdemeanor or felony) can be challenging.
- Right to bear arms. While the right to bear arms is a constitutional right, your rights can be restricted if you are convicted of certain criminal offenses. If you are convicted of certain felonies or misdemeanors, you cannot own or possess a gun or permit to carry.
If you or a loved one have been charged with a DUI or related offense, contact the Law Office of Steven Fine as soon as possible. With decades of legal experience, our DUI attorney offers clients high-quality, attentive legal services and can work tirelessly to mitigate the penalties.
To schedule your case consultation, complete this online form or call (312) 436-0638.