When it comes to criminal court matters in Illinois and other states, Chicago residents may know that acts considered misdemeanors are treated less severely than felonies, but any criminal charge can result in negative consequences if you're convicted. When it comes to Class C misdemeanors, these crimes are considered relatively minor and typically come with the lightest punishments, but understanding what could happen if you are charged with a Class C misdemeanor is still important.
What It Entails
Illinois is one of seven states with this category of misdemeanors, and one could face charges under this class when accused of disorderly conduct or possession of a small amount of cannabis. When convicted of a Class C misdemeanor in Illinois, one could spend up to 30 days in jail. Of the states with this type of misdemeanor, Illinois has the highest fine as one could pay as much as $1,500.
What To Do
While Class C misdemeanors are less serious than other crimes, this does not mean you should take any charges lightly. Being convicted of a crime can make it harder to secure a job or housing, and you would not be able to work in certain sectors like law enforcement, healthcare or the government. You may need a Chicago criminal lawyer to improve your chances of being able to negotiate to get a suspended sentence or the charges dismissed.
Things can get more complicated if you have previous convictions or are charged with multiple crimes. In some cases, an attorney might use plea bargaining so that larger offenses are dropped. This means you could plead guilty to lesser charges so that you avoid large fines or a lengthy stay in jail or prison.
When charged with a Class C misdemeanor or something else, you might have many options available. Contact us so that we can help you find the best solution for your situation.